The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-22-2015, 01:04 PM

Default Martin Custom Shop OM28 and D28

Hey Everyone!
I just joined the forum and this is my first post, but I have been lurking quietly in the background for years reading and researching many topics… which have ultimately led to my recent purchases of 2 very nice Martin Custom Shop Guitars. These weren’t custom made for me, but rather, after trying, buying and then selling lots of different makes and models… I finally found (and hope to keep) these two for a very long time. Their particular tone-wood combinations and specs just work perfectly for me and my playing style and I attempted to capture their sound with some recent recordings/videos I made (see below).

A little background… I’ve been playing guitar for about 20+ years… mostly self-taught and I certainly don’t have the best technique or chops, but I’m always learning and trying to improve my playing. I also have a nice home recording studio… audio recording is one of my main passions I’ve sunk myself into for the better part of the last 10 years, but again mostly self-taught and still always learning and trying to improve my ear and my skill set.

When researching these guitars… I found it extremely difficult to find good quality recordings of anything online. There’s a ton of stuff out there, but most of it with crappy camera audio or just bad mic placements (that can totally change the sound of the instrument, etc.) So once I got these guitars, I wanted to try to create recordings that did them some justice. Not sure if I achieved that, but hopefully these are an attempt in the right direction. There’s SO many variables in audio recording that can effect the sound (microphones, preamps, compression, EQ, mixing techniques.) I tried to keep it pretty basic, but it’s certainly not a perfectly “neutral” recording.