The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 04-01-2016, 01:04 PM
AGF Sponsor

Default Wood Knot's Custom Shop build thread...

Hello All...

My name is Joel, and I'd like to introduce myself properly to this community, and share with you folks a little bit about the woodworking shop that I've been building, and my journey towards building guitars.

I've been a woodworker and craftsman (hobbyist) for as long as I can remember. I graduated from The University of Alabama in 1993, and worked in the printing industry until 3 years ago, when I transitioned (due to layoffs) from a hobbyist into a full time woodworker/craftsman. This transition has gone from being quite unnerving, to bringing very pleasant results.

I live on the Gulf Coast of Alabama, in a small community on the Eastern Shore of Mobile Bay, called Fairhope. The humidity level is quite high, year round, so I began building a woodworking shop three years ago so that I could have an environmentally-controlled space to work inside of. I've travelled from Long Beach, Mississippi to Atlanta, Georgia to source building materials and woodworking equipment for as low as 20 cents on the dollar. Unbelievably, due to patience, diligent sourcing, and building as I could afford, I now have a 1400 square foot, two-story, three-room structure that, not only is paid for, but has only cost me $15,000.