The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 01-09-2013, 05:51 AM

Default fixing a ripped of bridge

Hi, I own one old scrappy Aria A550 nylon string guitar. I mounted high tension strings (nylon, not steel ;-)) and 1 month after the bridge ripped of with an explosion-like sound. Now the body's top is w/o bridge. I am no professional luthier but I wanna fix it on my own.

How do I manage this? Which glue? Which temperature while hardening? Do I have to press it down? Do I have to apply glue on top and bottom of the bridge?

I can send you guys photos of this major damage if you want..

Yours

lusthansa
Old 01-09-2013, 07:23 AM

Here is how I deal with that:

http://fingerlakesguitarrepair.com/m...bridge-reglue/

I am not familiar with your make of guitar, but you will probably have to buy or make clamping cauls that are different from the ones I use in the Martin article.
Old 01-09-2013, 03:37 PM

In my repair business, I've re-glued several bridges. Important to the process is to remove all glue from the underside of the bridge and make certain the underside is perfectly flat. Then, you have to recondition the area on the guitar top where the bridge will be glued so it is also flat and forms a gap free fit with the underside of the bridge. For this, I use chisel (if necessary to remove finish that protrudes inside of the bridge area as is common on factory guitars) and a scraper - never sand-paper.

For gluing, I use Titebond 2. I know many builders, however, prefer hide glue for bridges.