The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 12-27-2012, 12:53 PM

Default Intonation question

I am new to guitar building and as I understand it intonation is basically having it play the same not an octave apart when fretted on the 12th fret.
My question is if the guitar is set up and has the usual 3/32" saddle, can the intonation be changed by adjusting where the string makes contact with the saddle?
Old 12-27-2012, 01:11 PM

in answer to your question, yes. that is the prescribed method for adjusting intonation although it is a lot easier with a wider saddle. in fact, right off the bat your B string will have to be lengthened a certain amount if you are going to begin compensating the saddle. i have found the stew-mac online calculator to be a pretty good starting point (because i'm too lazy to make my own spread sheet). google "stew-mac fret position calculator" -i can't seem to link to it directly for some html/web reason. this will help you establish your saddle angle relative to the nut to start out with.

Last edited by arie; 12-27-2012 at 01:24 PM.
Old 12-27-2012, 03:10 PM

Yes, you can change the intonation by contouring the saddle. Take a short section of a sewing needle or and put it under the string on top of the saddle. By moving it back toward the bottom of the guitar or toward the headstock you can fine the sweet spot where the string in in tune at the 12th fret. Then file the rest of the saddle away leaving the area you have marked with the needle.
Old 12-27-2012, 11:56 PM

http://charlestauber.com/luthier/Bas...r_Setup_3.html

If you don't want the theory, skip to section 7, the how-to.

Generally, a 3/32" saddle is not wide enough to fully compensate all 6 strings fully.
Old 12-28-2012, 08:58 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles Tauber View Post
http://charlestauber.com/luthier/Bas...r_Setup_3.html