The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Archtops

Old 08-04-2008, 03:42 PM
Charter Member

Default Firsthand experience with Roberto Venn

As I approach retirement and contemplate the next chapter of my life, I've thought about learning to build and repair guitars. I was wondering if anyone has firsthand knowledge about the Roberto Venn School of Luthiery or can recommend another good program to learn the trade. Truth be told, I'm really more interested in learning repair than building. Thanks..........
Martin D18 Ambertone
Martin 000-15sm
Old 08-04-2008, 05:36 PM

Sounds like wonderful plans for post-retirement! I have no real knowledge about this school but I did comission a guitar from a builder who not only attended there but spent some time teaching at the school after graduation. His name is Kent Hamblin (web site is something like www.hamblin-guitars.com). Wonderful guitars, by the way.

Anyway, Kent is a very friendly person and I bet he would be willing to speak to you about it if you contacted him.

Good luck with this new chapter in your life!

Last edited by wthurman; 08-05-2008 at 05:22 AM. Reason: Corrected link ;)
Old 08-04-2008, 07:46 PM

You might want to also take a look at Bryan Galloup's school.

I didn't go there, but I know some folks who did. Bryan seems to have a repair as well as building curriculum.

You might also see if you have a (good) repair shop close by and see if you can hang around and help out (for free). That is a pretty good way to learn too. IIRC Jimmy D'Aquisto did that at John D'Angelico's shop... and look at where it got him.
Old 08-04-2008, 08:01 PM

According to their website, the Music Emporium's guitar tech is a graduate, you might contact him. www.themusicemporium.com