The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 12-25-2007, 08:11 PM

Default re: Squier Tele pickups

I know little about acoustic pickups, (All I know is I like K&K and it's all I've used) and I know less about electric. I bought a 2nd hand Squier Tele just to fool around with. I have an opportunity to get a pretty good deal on a complete set of USA Fender Pickups, pots, and switch, all prewired. Would this be a decent upgrade to the Squier or are the two guitar's parts too similar to begin with to notice any difference. Thanks for any help.

Old 12-25-2007, 09:38 PM

I think upgrading is an excellent idea. There is a significant difference between the American and the Asian pickups (I was a Fender authorized service technician for 20 years). I've a Squier Strat that I've played and loved since the early 80's. Many Squiers (especially the Japanese) benefit from better electronics and tuning machines and can be made into very serviceable players. Of course, some need a great deal more. I'd readily suggest trying the pickups, pots, switches and jacks. Good Luck to you, Bill.
Old 12-26-2007, 05:23 AM

Thanks for that Bill. A few of my friends have Strats and Teles, and I really couldn't see any _substantial_ differences when I picked this one up. (I really got it for a song) and now I"m having fun with it, both by playing it and tweaking it to make it better. One thing I noticed was the fret edges weren't smooth like on the upscale models... so I filed and buffed them a little now they're fine. I also noticed that the output from the pickups was less than on my Larrivee or Taylor both of which have K&K passives in them, and the pots weren't exactly quiet. That's why I started thinking about swapping in the first place. Anyhow, once again thanks.

Old 12-26-2007, 01:28 PM