The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 03-23-2017, 01:13 PM

Default Talent Level Ignored When Forming a Band

I hope I am posting in the right thread to vent. I saw the warning about staying away from RELIGION but I have to go there to provide a bit of a background. This new church that I am a member of does not look at talent level when selecting members. That's all I am going to touch on RELIGION. If you have had a similar experience, please help me understand this whole situation.

Here are some of the issues:
- Praise leader is a former opera singer and I disagree with him leading praise songs using the techniques of an opera singer.
- Singers cannot sing and they cannot be heard anyways.
- There is an electric guitarist who is a complete beginner but they let him just play however he wants.
- It appears the selection process involves one's want to join, enthusiasm, and if the pastor likes him/her (especially the leader).

The end result is a bunch of people just free styling. I get that we're not talking about some professional band but I've never seen this selection process. I have been around for 20 years playing and have been in the lead position for a good 15 years. I will admit that it baffles me and irks me to see people with less talent in the lead. I am find with my current role just as a lead guitarist and a backup vocal but we need some skilled people not just people who wants to join. Maybe I am just an arrogant terrible person who doesn't see the big picture.
Old 03-23-2017, 01:25 PM

Maybe the "Big Picture" is that those folks aren't interested in a talent competition, and just want to happily make their "joyful noise" ....
Old 03-23-2017, 01:25 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudals1281 View Post
...Maybe I am just an arrogant terrible person who doesn't see the big picture.