The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 10-29-2012, 07:12 AM

Default Intro and I come bearing gifts (fanned 7 content)

KR Guitars fanned 7 string, 27"-25" tuned like a conventional 7 string guitar. B-Band pre-amp with an AST soundboard pickup and UST piezo. It sounds great and plays nicely. I'm still getting used to acoustic action and strings after many years without an acoustic.

I'm primarily a bassist, which made the low B come naturally because it has been part of my musical vocabulary for many years. Overall, I wanted something that was kinda sorta in between a 7 string and a harp guitar. The D'Addario .070 is a little weak in dropped A. It sounds good in B and C. As luck would have it, I can use a normal case and Shubb classical capo. The fan may look slightly daunting, but it plays normal to me and I don't feel that I need to own another steel string acoustic.

I've let my bandmates play it, as well as a few people at a local shop when I was buying the capo. They seemed to think the fan was quite easy, but not the low B.

I really like the B-Band. I can run either pickup as well as blend them in series and parallel. The onboard tuner seems accurate enough.
Old 10-29-2012, 10:18 PM

I recognize that guitar! I saw it earlier this evening on TalkBass!

Great looking instrument , care to pass it around so we can sample it?
Old 10-29-2012, 11:45 PM

Tell us more, if you would, about the design and also some sound samples would be great if you have any. I'm very interested in this approach, perhaps as an alternative to a baritone.

'98 Martin HD-28VR, '98 Bourgeois Martin Simpson European, '98 Collings CJmha
Old 10-30-2012, 06:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Scott View Post
I recognize that guitar! I saw it earlier this evening on TalkBass!

Great looking instrument , care to pass it around so we can sample it?