The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 01-13-2017, 09:54 AM

Default x7 or x20 for travel?

Hello, I am new to the CF community so I will be picking up my first carbon guitar soon. I am planning on travelling to multiple countries for a long period of time (think 3+ months) and have never traveled with a guitar before, so after hearing tons of positive reviews about Emerald I am stuck between these two models.

Currently, I am extremely happy with my Taylor 614ce, as I feel it is the perfect size for my fingerstyle playing. I also sometimes do percussion techniques that involving hitting the body of the guitar with my fingernails, so there are definitely noticeable dents on the body of the wood. I know carbon fiber is stronger, but does anyone else have experience with dents on their guitar because of their playing?

As for the size difference of the x7 and x20, I know the main pro for the x7 is that it is easier to carry, while the x20 has louder, fuller sound. However, no stores around me carry these guitars, so does anyone have opinions on these two guitars travel-wise? Ideally, I would like the bigger sound, but also I do not want the larger size to hinder my travelling. Also, are the padded gig bags by Emerald durable enough for this type of travel?

Thank you!

Last edited by Arcleaf; 01-13-2017 at 10:11 AM.
Old 01-13-2017, 01:06 PM
Charter Member

welcome to the AGF arcleaf,

there are alot of threads here about traveling with guitars. I am one of the folks who is really satisfied with the Voyage Air traveling guitar because it folds in half and fits in the overhead luggage bin on most airlines. This takes away alot of the worry of flying with a guitar.