The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 01-04-2017, 02:09 PM
Charter Member

Default Nail care question...

I've been playing classical/flamenco on and off since 1985. When I'm in that mode, I take very good care of my nails... filing with a good diamond file and using 600 grit sandpaper to smooth the edges. I think that I learned about all of that from Parkening's first book (who happened to be the head of my guitar program at the time).

Anyways... when it comes to protecting the nails, I've always just used whatever seemed like a good idea. I've used a clear nail gloss now and in the past, but I don't like how flashy it makes my nails look (because I'm not female... LOL). Also, when employing flamenco techniques like rasqueado... it immediately wears that off, at least in spots where the back of the contacts the string. I like the natural look of the nail, but wonder if there's not some good product that strengthens and/or protects them without a glossy finish?
Old 01-05-2017, 04:16 AM

Superglue.
This is not a flippant answer as I vaguely remember a TV documentary featuring Julian Bream ("Guitarra!", I think it was called) where he interviewed a flamenco guitarist and posed this very question. The player's answer was superglue, because of its hardness. If only I could remember his name! -

Paco Pena, I think...
Old 01-05-2017, 04:57 AM

Yep it was Paco Pena, but I thought he used superglue only to repair a nail. Anything you use on the surface of your nail will affect the rasgueado tone. Many flamencos use artificial nails all the time.
Old 01-05-2017, 05:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocharms66 View Post
Yep it was Paco Pena, but I thought he used superglue only to repair a nail. Anything you use on the surface of your nail will affect the rasgueado tone. Many flamencos use artificial nails all the time.