The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-05-2013, 04:16 PM

Default fingerpicking styles for folk music

Hey im 24 and ive been playing guitar for about 8 and a half years. I started playing beatles and zeppelin the whole thing. But for the past 5 years ive been really into folk music. Ive ventured off to the mandolin and what not but id like to get more in depth with fingerpicking styles on the acoustic to accompany songwriting. anyone out there that can help me with different patterns or techniques that are good in the style of folk music? I really appreciate the help im brand new to this forum! Also please feel free to check my music at www.youtube.com/geetarlust00
Old 07-05-2013, 06:29 PM

Not sure specifically what folk music you're after, but, generally speaking, look into Travis picking, which lends itself to all kinds of music.
Old 07-05-2013, 06:43 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericengel View Post
...id like to get more in depth with fingerpicking styles on the acoustic to accompany songwriting.
Hi ericengel...

First of all, Hello and Welcome to the forum! Glad you joined and jumped in with a post.

Here's a link to a short video I made for students, and beginning fingerstyle players. All 4 basic patterns are listed in the text below the video.

Simple Fingerstyle Patterns - CliCK

I do not start students with Travis Picking, but rather folk fingerstyle because it's a more universal style which can be easily re-tasked. It is a good accompaniment to simple folk tunes and other songs as well.

In addition alternating bass in folk fingerstyle is at half the speed of Travis Picking (Travis style forces a bass note on every beat). This means folk style fingerstyle playing is more relaxed sounding and better suited to gentle songs, as well as to quicker ones (less driven).