The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-02-2013, 10:34 PM

Cool Play chords up neck

Hi
i am a newbie and I really admire people who can play open chords up the neck. I hv searched the net extensively and i have come up with mainly barre chords ( which i know) and just a handful of simple, open chords further up like C,D and E chords shapes etc.

Where is a good place to learn to be liberated from the first position?

And how do i put the few open chords (esp those with very long and complex names) that i know into a nice progression?

Tks a lot
Old 07-03-2013, 02:54 AM

Open chords up the neck? Not exactly sure what you mean - you say you play simple shapes like C, D and E up the neck. Do you mean you're strumming, say, an E shape at the 8th fret:

0 9 9 8 0 0 (low string to high)

This would be a B barre hcord (using an E shape) but without the barre - thus letting the open strings ring.

If this is what you're already doing then I think you've already answered your own question. If it's not what you're doing then try experimenting with this. The E shape sound nice at the A position, too,

0 7 7 6 0 0

where the open B string gives it a 9th sound.

Then you can drop down to the regular E position - and lo and behold a nice little chord sequence using an open chord up the neck

Try moving an open C chord up two frets - didn't REM use that in Losing My Religion? Or was it Man on the Moon? Anyway it's used in many a finger picking song. Move all the open chords around in this way and let your ears be the judge of what you've found.

Kind regards
Derek

My acoustics:
  • Tanglewood TW-60
  • Manouche 'Moreno' Modele Jazz
  • 2006 Martin 000-15
  • Tanglewood TW-40
  • Furch D32-SM
  • Michael Messer Lightning
Old 07-03-2013, 03:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by giantkiller8 View Post
Hi