The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 08-17-2017, 12:59 AM

Default Taylor NS24e or an other model for my for classic guitar ?

Hello everyone,

I posted my question in an old topic but didn't have any answer.
That's why I am creating a new thread and I hope it's ok.

I started playing guitar 6 month ago on a Taylor gs mini e.
I play other instruments and love classical music.

I would like to buy a classic guitar to play :
- Classical music
- French variety : Gainsbourg, Brassens, etc
- A bit of bossa

I am used to thin neck and parlor size guitar and I am trying to find the perfect fit with my future classic guitar.

Tomorrow I will be able to try these 2 second hand guitars :
- Taylor NS24e
- Castellucia Crossover 14 ( with cutaway)

I also like the Cordoba crossover and parlor c9 but can't find a place to try them for the moment.

Would the Taylor or castellucia be a good choice of guitar for what I want to play?
I need a good acoustic sound, electronics is not my priority. A cutaway version is nice. A smaller size (gs mini = perfect size) and a comfortable neck are very important to me.

There are also the new Taylor r academy with Nylon strings and Taylor 114 N but I never tried them.

Thank you in advance for your help 😊
Old 08-17-2017, 03:12 AM

Do you live in Europe? Thomann give you a 30day return period. That way, if you can't find the guitar you want locally, you can it with them and if it really doesn't suit you, send it back.

If you can try guitars locally, I would go out and try some full classical or flamenco guitars, to see if the neck really is an issue for you. I thought it was going to be for me, but in the end I love the flat fretboard and string spacing.
I play: Acoustic blues & folk
Videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/sirwhale28/videos
Old 08-17-2017, 03:49 AM

Thank you sirwhale for your reply.
Yes I live in Europe.