The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 04-07-2017, 06:04 PM

Default 2017 Taylor ES2 Input Impedance Question

I'm a retired lawyer, not an electrical engineer, so please be patient with me. I have a 2017 Taylor with the ES2 system. I've looked on line but can't seem to get a straight answer - is there a recommended input impedance for the ES2 system? The reason I ask is that my preamp/DI has three different instrument input impedance settings: low (330K), medium (1M) and hi (10M), and while I could match by ear I'd just like to know which setting should work best for the Taylor ES2. Your thoughts are most appreciated! [Edited]

Last edited by Old Poseur; 04-13-2017 at 11:51 AM.
Old 04-07-2017, 08:45 PM

Low should be fine, but try them all.
Old 04-08-2017, 06:43 AM
Charter Member

As AkaFloyd mentioned. The ES2 is an active system and should mate well with any input impedance but if you have a choice of three different input impedances, then let your ear decide in the subtle differences in tone , if any, these three impedances may render your amplified sound.
Ovation Custom Legend LX
Guild F-212XL STD
Huss & Dalton TD-R
Taylor 717e
Taylor 618e
Taylor 614ce
Larrivee D-50M/HiFi
Larrivee D-40R Blue Grass Special/HiFi
Larrivee D-40R Sunburst
Larrivee C-03R TE/Trance M-VT Phantom
RainSong BI-DR1000N2
Emerald X20
Yamaha FGX5
Republic Duolian/Schatten NR-2
Old 04-08-2017, 07:44 AM

Thanks gentlemen - that's exactly what I'll do.
Old 04-08-2017, 08:08 AM

If that figure is 330 ohms (as opposed to 330 Kohms), I'd think that you'd likely get a tinny/trebly result running to it. Most active pickup systems have an output resistance of more than 330 ohms. (1 Kohm is a common output impedance for an active pickup system. The rule of thumb is that you want the preamp's input impedance to be at least 10X the output impedance of the pickup system.)