The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-19-2017, 12:43 PM

Default I hear the metronome, the audience doesn't

I'm new to the solo singer/guitarist game. My primary purpose for posting is that I envision a scenario in which I hear a metronome in my ear -- perhaps through one of those in ear thingamajiggys (the bigger one, not the tiny one) which keeps me in time that the audience doesn't hear. Some monitoring through the thingamajiggy would be nice, too, since in my initial forays out into the real world, I've noticed it's often hard to hear what you're doing in simple environments without a great PA or sound man around.

So: who makes an in ear (or wraparound the ear to be more specific) "thingamajiggy," and what useful devices like for instance TC Voice Live have metronomes?

A secondary question: with higher end acoustic amps like AER and the newer Acus, is the idea to just dial in one great sound for your guitar ... cause there doesn't appear to be any way to save presets. Does anyone own one of the above or similar and actually fiddle with EQ settings on the amp between songs?

Thanks for any theories and opinions.
Old 07-19-2017, 03:59 PM

I use one setting on my AER but feed it with a preamp which allows quick eq changes.

I don't understand the metronome thing. The more practice you do and the more gigs you do the more confident you will get and that is the main thing.
Martin J40
Old 07-19-2017, 04:09 PM

As my teacher always said, start practicing with metronome. Then, without it. That was one of the best advices he gave me
Old 07-19-2017, 10:18 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pecx View Post
As my teacher always said, start practicing with metronome. Then, without it. That was one of the best advices he gave me
Kinda rings true as does the previous post I must admit
Old 07-19-2017, 10:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Howell View Post