The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-02-2015, 02:11 AM

Question Exercises suitable for home concert setting?

Can you suggest any beginner-level exercises which are not too boring to listen to for other people, but which gradually build experience in scales and solo playing? Any books and video suggestions are welcome, but in essence I need exercises which are easy to memorize and then practice without looking at a screen or sheet.

I am a hobbyist player. I have learned basic rhythm & arpeggio accompaniment from my brother and from some tabs. I have been playing for my friends and family for 15+ years. I have some basic understanding of theory and enough musical ear to pick up some pop/rock songs, and I even wrote a few songs myself (which I am too shy to share).

Still, I have very poor technique, and even a simplest instrumental intro or solo of the kind that often go between verses is beyond my current ability. I remember the basic chords, but naming a specific note on the fret requires mental calculations. I would like to improve this, to bring more life and variety to the songs I play.

Currently, the only opportunity for me to find any time to practice guitar is when I play occasional "home concerts" for my wife and kids. I usually play some of a few dozen songs I remember, which keeps my hands remembering the strings, but doesn't improve the technique much. I could fit in a few technique exercises, but they have to be:
1) easy to memorize, so I can play them without looking up notes
2) pleasant to listen to (not plain scales or 16x repeat patterns)

Hence my question written way up there in the first passage. Can you recommend any pleasantly sounding and at the same time instructional exercises?

I have an acoustic guitar, so not a big fan of bends currently.