The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-24-2024, 09:34 AM

Default No Pedal thread

It seems like there are a lot of effects pedal users here .I like effects but don't use them. How many giggers just plug in and play? I 've had a few thru the years but just sold them because when I play thru them ;it just doesn't sound good for me. I plug into my Soloamp and thats it. Most guys I go see ;make those effects sound good.
Old 03-24-2024, 10:41 AM

I do both. If I am doing a solo or duo act, I will pretty much forgo any added electronics and just concentrate on the songs.

But if I’m added to any sort of group as a guitarist, I look at it as part of the gig.
Old 03-24-2024, 10:45 AM
Charter Member

I’ve never used any effects pedals for acoustic guitar. Don’t really have any interest in it, and don’t really love listening to heavily effected acoustic guitars either. I add some reverb and/or delay at the mixing console, but that’s all.

My acoustic pedalboard is just DI, tuner, and volume.

Last edited by Mobilemike; 03-24-2024 at 03:57 PM.
Old 03-24-2024, 10:48 AM
Charter Member

I remain ambivalent. I try a pedal, then just plug and play as I love simplicity. I'm currently the latter so we'll see whether I stay that way!
Old 03-24-2024, 11:32 AM

I've grown into loving pedals! For acoustic I use compression, reverb, and delay (and boost but that's not really an effect). I've been using a Mira (Walrus Audio) for compression and a Dispatch Master for reverb/delay; both pedals are warm and natural, so they serve acoustic guitar well. I find compression essential for preserving the feeling and response of playing unplugged at home; it also makes the signal 'sound' more acoustic by softening the attack, increasing sustain, and warming up the tone.