The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-31-2015, 08:45 AM

Default Less Quack?

Intriguing thread title, no?

You were probably expecting another "no more quack" thread about how I'm worn out on the quack of a UST and you were therefore probably going to recommend a K&K system of some sort

No... I'm afraid I'm stuck as UST (LR Baggs Element) guy. I just play (probably) too loud, with (probably) too much low end, and almost always with bands. Adding a mic or SBT to the mix would probably not fly for the most part. But there's another side to this. In addition to being a musician, I'm also a sound engineer. When getting my tone, these two seem to conflict a bit. As a guitar player, I want a natural, full, realistic sound (aka NO quack). Alright, let's be honest, the guitar player in me hates the quack. But as a sound engineer, I need the sound to work in the context of a full band mix and end up having to really carve up that "natural, full sound." Being honest, the sound engineer in me needs the quack to help sit in the mix... er, at least SOME of it. But only some. I've especially been experimenting lately on way to cut out enough of the quack to make it sound like an actual guitar again, but leave enough so I have the cut needed to get through the mix without having to boost a bunch of frequencies.

You're probably going dude, just get an SBT, it's the perfect solution for you. I know... and I want to like the SBTs I've heard... and in fact, I do. They sound good; I'm just not overly impressed. To my ears, they sound like a UST with the high end rolled off some and that's really it. I feel like I replicate that sound regularly by running through an EQ. Note, I'm not dinging SBT users at all; just saying I'm not sure they're for me.