The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-11-2014, 11:07 PM

Default Just did my first open mic (stage)

I've been trying to get up the nerve to do this for awhile and have been attending the same venue for sometime now. They call it an open stage because there are no microphones as it is a very small room. I've broached this subject before on the forum and as you would expect everyone says just go for it. One of my issues has been there are some really good players there and I always felt a little intimidated by them (didn't want to have to follow them). I do public speaking for a living so being in front of people is nothing new but I also need to be very confident in what I am going to do and playing and singing are a far cry from my usual shtick. Anyway, I went there last week and it was a rather sparse crowd with none of the exceptionally talented folks there. I had a business appointment this evening fairly close by so I decided to bring my guitar with me on the odd chance that I would encounter the same scenario as last week, which I did. At first I was a bit hesitant and then decided if not now when, so I put my name on the list which was pretty short. You get to play 1 song in rotation so I played "Long Black Veil" and felt very comfortable doing it. I then decided I would go for a second song on the next go round and did "My Old Yellow Car" (made somewhat popular by Dan Seals but written by Thom Schuyler, also the writer of 16th Avenue and made popular by Lacy J. Dalton. All in all a very good experience with no major flubs and very happy to have finally gotten up there and faced that fear. I am sure that I will be doing this again. Just wanted to share with all the good folks on the forum that are so encouraging.
Old 09-11-2014, 11:20 PM

Thumbs up