The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 02-18-2017, 03:51 PM

Default Electric Novice looking for advice

I'm a long time acoustic musician wanting to get into some electric guitar sounds and know almost nothing about any of it. All I can tell you is I want to make sounds like these:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5ggv-5s4bs

Warm, a little crunchy but mostly clean. It sounds very "organic" to my ears, but thats a word I just made up, maybe there is a real word in the electric world.

My inclination is to mimic Julian's setup (but likely in a more economically feasible fashion). A tele and a champ, or so I read, but I'm only regurgitating information I read online.

My ultimate question is, what should I be looking for, and what price range am I looking at to make a similar sound? I'm all for buying used/beat up gear that's structurally sound, and want something that isn't going to frustrate me quality-wise or break the bank.

So, in short, I'd loved to be schooled on this foreign world and get some suggestions of how to jump in.

Thanks!
Baron
Old 02-18-2017, 04:17 PM

He is playing a Telecaster using his neck position pickup (you can see in the video) through a clean channel. (Couldn't tell you what amp he is using). In some ways it's unusual as most Telecaster players get their lead tones from their bridge pickup.

If this is what you like, a value for money Made in Mexico Fender Stratocaster or Telecaster (or potentially a top end Squire) through a clean channel on a solid state amp (like a Fender Mustang) or a good clean tube amp like the Fender Blues Junior. If you wanted to fatten up the tone a little, then a guitar with hum-buckers will work also.

Good luck!

Last edited by Steel and wood; 02-18-2017 at 04:23 PM.
Old 02-18-2017, 05:17 PM

good name for a band, "electric novice."