The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 01-31-2017, 10:50 AM

Default Sticky neck?

Hello all. I'm a total electric noob and was checking out an Epiphone Les Paul Special II. A budy of mine has one given to him as a gift a while back that literally has less than 1/2 hr playing time on it (28 min, me, this morning. Lol).

Anyhow, as a complete electric noob, I noticed the neck was sticky. Extremely sticky.

Is this something specific to brand? A characteristic of all electrics? Something that goes away?

Any input would be appreciated as I can get this guitar from him for almost free but if this is a persistent issue, I wonder if it would be worth it at all.

Thanks in advance.
Old 01-31-2017, 11:07 AM

Clean the neck with naphtha and it should help. The problem is probably just grime and oil gunking up the poly finish.
2015 Gibson J-45 Vintage
2007 Gibson SJ-200 True Vintage
Old 01-31-2017, 11:26 AM

I'd just use a damp rag followed by a soft dry cloth - always worked on all of my non-shellac finished instruments...
Old 01-31-2017, 04:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by geetaruke View Post
Hello all. I'm a total electric noob and was checking out an Epiphone Les Paul Special II. A budy of mine has one given to him as a gift a while back that literally has less than 1/2 hr playing time on it (28 min, me, this morning. Lol).

Anyhow, as a complete electric noob, I noticed the neck was sticky. Extremely sticky.

Is this something specific to brand? A characteristic of all electrics? Something that goes away?

Any input would be appreciated as I can get this guitar from him for almost free but if this is a persistent issue, I wonder if it would be worth it at all.

Thanks in advance.