The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 02-02-2016, 08:16 PM

Default Help me replace a neck on this Gallagher.

A while back I posted my woes with this Gallagher 71 special.

Basically, the neck is twisted and bowed and no joy from the company, even though I am the original purchaser. So I had a local luthier pop the neck off for me, and lo, the truss rod (compression type) was doing exactly what I suspected- the anchored end is pulling through the end grain of the neck. It did not help any it was not centered in the neck, I think the apprentice built it...

So-since I do not want to spend $1500 on a new neck, and I am a pro fine furniture woodworker, I am going to build it. I have also built a few nice electrics from the ground up, many years ago. I have a new board and truss rod (double acting) and the woodwork is no problem-

Can you help me on sequencing the job?

Here is my proposed sequence - mark centerline on body and neck blank.

Build a routing template for the dovetail, male and female, and clean up the female which has shims etc in the pocket.

Cut the dovetail end of the neck blank to 89 degrees (is 1 degree enough?) and route a test piece, check the neck angle, , then do it for real, and fit the dovetail to the body. I am going to leave the entire neck blank an inch long, in case I need to cut off the dovetail and do it over.

After double checking up the neck -body joint, and checking for angle, cut the truss rod slot while the blank is still square, then profile the neck.

Question- is the neck normally glued into the body first, then the FB glued on ? Is the FB normally fretted before gluing on the neck?

finish the neck contour, headstock overlay ,tuner holes etc and finish the neck , then glue it in. (what sort of glue?)