The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 10-12-2014, 11:46 AM

Default Nut Slot Files: Is there a less expensive way?

I'm not a luthier. I have several guitars and a pair of 5-string basses.

I would like to be able to experiment with various nut materials, slot heights/depths and string spacings, BUT...once I figure out what works, I'll make those nuts and that'll be IT - until something breaks or wears out sometime in the future (maybe).

So I don't want to buy all the (expensive) files needed for a light gauge acoustic guitar set, much less that fat bass-guitar B string.

Do you have a suggestion for some alternative that can cut as accurately as a set of real nut slot files at a much lower cost? Bear in mind that I'm a capable guy, but I have zero experience making nuts for stringed instruments - so the tool you recommend must be suitable for a "low skilled" user.
Here's an Ebay search based on search term "cheap nut slot file"

THIS KIT
is based on a jeweler's saw frame holding round "saw rods".

HERE
are just the rods for use in your own jeweler's saw frame.
Unfortunately, the saw rod diameters don't match up so well with standard string sizes: .06", .05", .04", .03", .023" and .018"

I'd appreciate your thoughts on this or any other possibilities.
Thanks
Old 10-12-2014, 12:30 PM

I am thinking those rods are just oxyacetylene tip cleaners. I used a couple of needle files.
Old 10-12-2014, 01:20 PM

Do those diameters sound like standard sizes for welding tip cleaners?
.06" .05" .04" .03" .023" .018"

I have a couple of sets of needle files around, but they're not rounded to create rounded slot bottoms, and mine sure aren't sized to cut specific widths for specific strings.

You're probably more skillful and/or experienced than I am...
Old 10-12-2014, 01:38 PM