The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-01-2017, 07:48 AM

Default Let 'em catch up...

I've been attending a Friday night jam for about 3 months now. It's usually about 10 old cowboy types in western hats and boots playing ancient country music. Each song begins with telling the key and you have the mic and sing your song.

I, being at least 10 years younger than the others, have been introducing some more recent songs into the repertoire. The performances have been less than stellar a number of times. I finally figured out what I was doing wrong. Instead of completely leading the way on songs I'm playing, I've been letting myself be derailed by listening to others struggling with the chord changes. I've even paused the singing to listen for everyone playing on the right chord.

Last night I approached it differently and it was great. I played my songs without hearing the others playing along. Concentrated fully on my own playing. Those who could keep up did so very well. The others just stopped playing along. The songs came out much better. I think I finally discovered the best way to participate in a jam!
Old 07-01-2017, 07:54 AM
Charter Member

Default Let 'em catch up...

You fully embraced the job of leading the song in a circle.

It's a developed skill , easy or hard depends on the person.

Workshop circles are different than jam circles , and your first couple rounds were suitable for that concept , with planning and intent it can be fun too!

I love music circles , jams especially! They are so rewarding and their dynamic nature Makes the music mostly nicely unpredictable.

Huss & Dalton CM
McKnight MacNaught
Breedlove Custom 000
Albert & Mueller S
Martin LXE
Voyage-Air VM04
Eastman AR605CE
Old 07-01-2017, 08:03 AM