The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-23-2017, 12:27 PM

Default How to stop Speeding up Tempo live.

Sorry if this has been covered before. I did a quick forum search and didn't see what I am looking for.
When I play and sing a song at home, I seem to have the tempo down pretty good, but I have recorded myself playing (open mics, small venues) and I always seem to play the song just a little to fast. Sometimes I even start out at the right tempo but as the song progresses, I see myself speeding up just a little, usually right after a chorus. Any suggestions in a live situation to keep the proper Beat/Tempo.? Oh, and I am an amateur solo performer.
Old 10-23-2017, 12:49 PM

In ear monitor with a click track? Speeding up live is something even professional musicians do. I wouldn’t sweat it unless it becomes sloppy.
Old 10-23-2017, 12:51 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmsstrider View Post
Sorry if this has been covered before. I did a quick forum search and didn't see what I am looking for.
When I play and sing a song at home, I seem to have the tempo down pretty good, but I have recorded myself playing (open mics, small venues) and I always seem to play the song just a little to fast. Sometimes I even start out at the right tempo but as the song progresses, I see myself speeding up just a little, usually right after a chorus. Any suggestions in a live situation to keep the proper Beat/Tempo.? Oh, and I am an amateur solo performer.
Awareness is the first step. Have you ever used a metronome? You will (or should) feel the push/pull of your time vs the metronome.

George
Old 10-23-2017, 01:27 PM
AGF Sponsor

At least you’re aware of it, and I’ll bet the audience isn’t.

You could try a simple drum program in an ear monitor, but I’ll bet anything that you’ll feel the program is dragging....