The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 06-23-2013, 03:51 PM

Default Ibanez ew20asent setup - Should it play this painfully?

I had my Ibanez ew20asent's headstock repaired and also setup 2 weeks ago. I had the tech guy install custom light strings (.011-.052) and asked to make it fingerstyle-friendly. The guitar plays unforgivingly. By that I mean that unless I play with perfect finger position and with uncomfortably firm pressure, it tends to fuzz. That may sound funny but it just feels like a chore to play the guitar in order to prevent it from fuzzing on me. I don't expect it to play as friendly as my electric or nylon guitars but I can't shake the feeling that it needs an adjustment. I've been playing for about 5 years so maybe it's my newb ignorance. Let me know what you think.

Here's a youtube vid I took showing the string height along the neck:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFSBH-5BSeM
Old 06-23-2013, 04:10 PM

It is difficult to say for sure without seeing it and without measurements. Based solely on appearance, I'd suggest the bow in the neck is too large, the nut too high and the saddle too high, but without any room at the saddle to lower it.

Straightening the neck may alleviate the nut and string height some, though that is not the purpose of straightening the neck.

If you wish, measure the distance from the top of the 12th fret to the bottom of each string so that the measurements can be compared to a typical string height. You could do the same for the bow in the neck, holding down a string at the first fret and at the 14th fret. Typical measurements for the bow are in the range of .005 to less than 1/64" depending upon player, strings, preferences... Common string heights at the 12th fret are 3/32" for the bass E and 5/64" for the treble E string.

If you want a lot more detail, see Basic Guitar Setup at http://charlestauber.com/luthier/Resources.html