The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

View Poll Results: What is your favorite classical guitar string tension?
Hard Tension 14 38.89%
Normal Tension 20 55.56%
Soft Tension 2 5.56%
Voters: 36. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10-07-2017, 10:00 PM

Default What is your favorite classical guitar string tension?

What is your favorite classical guitar string tension? and Why?
Old 10-07-2017, 11:12 PM

I am not a classical musician nor do I play guitar professionally. I play mostly as a hobby for my own entertainment so the tone I get from the strings and/or the tension is not that important to me. However, I do appreciate a good sounding guitar. I am posting here because we all get old and our bones, fingers, etc start breaking down and causing us pain that makes it difficult to continue with our love of the guitar. I have this problem and have searched countless hours for an answer. So far the best answer is to drop each string three half-steps. Then capo on the third fret if you must play in standard. With out the capo the strings do seem a little loose, but nice for hours of practice or playing for yourself. Minus surgery, this seems the best way to go.

Almanza 401 Mate
Classical

Ventura 12 string V17, now
a 6 string Lap Guitar.

Kala Baritone Ukulele

Melokia, Solid Acacia Tenor Ukulele

Yamaha Guitalele GL1

Yamaha CS40 Classical
Old 10-07-2017, 11:52 PM

I can't believe I'm actually participating in a string discussion. I think strings are one of things guitar players waste the most time obsessing about.

But...I do have a preference for hard tension (nylon, not the skinny carbons).