The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-16-2020, 08:58 PM

Default How is your action being set? (Low vs high action discuss)

I’m relatively new to guitar and still have a lot more to learn. I currently have a new Epiphone Masterbilt DR-500MCE. The problem is the action of my guitar at the 12 fret from the fingerboard to the middle of the string is 5mm and its been set up with plek’d. I think it’s high because The action hurts my fingers a lot when I do barre chord, maybe because I’m a beginner, but I never tried the lower action ones so I have no clue.

Is 5mm at 12 frets from the fretboard to middle of the string high action to you?
Is 3mm at 12 frets is too low?
Does average/high action have better sound quality than low action?
What’s the lowest action do you think that playable for both fingerstyle and strumming?
Is set up with plek’d(a computer) good?

Share your experience would be appreciated.
Old 05-16-2020, 09:04 PM

I like to strum and do a little finger picking.
I measure string height like these 2 pictures,

I read this as just over 2.0mm but under 2.5mm .... so around 2.25mm at the 12th fret.

1972 - Takamine D-70
2014 - Alvarez ABT60 Baritone
2015 - Kittis RBJ-195 Jumbo
2012 - Dan Dubowski#61
2018 - Rickenbacker 4003 Fireglo
2020 - Gibson Custom Shop Historic 1957 SJ-200
2021 - Epiphone 'IBG' Hummingbird
Old 05-16-2020, 09:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucebubs View Post
I like to strum and do a little finger picking.
I measure string height like this picture,

I read this as just over 2.0mm but under 2.5mm .... so around 2.25mm at the 12th fret.
That’s pretty low do you have any fret buzz when you strumming it??
Old 05-16-2020, 09:08 PM