The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-28-2015, 05:21 PM

Default Gear and service for streaming live acoustic concert?

Not sure if this is the right section to be posting this in, but here goes.

I'm going to be recording another album and as part of the album release I'd like to do a live streaming concert online for people who support/pre-order the album via Kickstarter.

I've never done anything like this before but it seems to be common enough that I'm hoping there will be several AGFers that have some recommendations.

What service have you used to stream? It looks like I might be able to use something like YouTube or Google Hangouts. I also found a service called Concert Window but it looks like there's cost involved for the viewers -- I'd like it to be something that's free to the viewer, free or little cost to me.

I'm also curious what gear any of you have used. I'd like the quality -- both visual and audio -- to be good. Doesn't need to be pro-level, but a step above using a laptop's built in camera and microphones would be great. I have a Canon DSLR (60D) with a couple entry-level lenses in terms of camera equipment, and I have an Apogee Mic in terms of sound.

Anyway, thought I'd check with you guys and see if any of you have any experience with this sort of thing. It's probably a ways out but I wanted to get a headstart on it!

And just in case you're curious, my last album can be found here.
Old 09-28-2015, 11:11 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ataylor View Post
Not sure if this is the right section to be posting this in, but here goes.

I'm going to be recording another album and as part of the album release I'd like to do a live streaming concert online for people who support/pre-order the album via Kickstarter.