The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 09-19-2015, 10:21 AM

Default Playing out Live/ Powered Subwoofer

Hi all...I'm a noob/recently registered...but, have been reading this forum for a while now. Thank you all for some great insight/advice...Sorry if this new thread does not belong here...wasn't sure where to put it.

I am part of an acoustic duo band...about a year and a half ago, I bought the Yamaha stage pass 600i...I am now interested in buying a powered sub ...but... don't want to break the bank....I was hoping to spend between $200-600..used is an option... Anyone have any suggestions/recommendation with which powered subwoofer you would buy. I don't think I need to go too big...considering our sound will only consist of two vocals and two guitars...we have two gigs coming up....and hopefully ..many more to follow...but we are booking small to mid size rooms. thanks for any advice
Old 09-19-2015, 01:48 PM

welcome to the AGF!

i wouldn't think that a subwoofer would work well with acoustic electrics. seems that it would make them and your voices too boomy. can't you just adjust the eq of the guitars and the pa to balance things out?

play music!

2014 Martin 00015M
2009 Martin 0015M
2008 Martin HD28
2007 Martin 000-18GE
2006 Taylor 712
2006 Fender Parlor GDP100
1978 Fender F65
1968 Gibson B25-12N
Various Electrics
Old 09-20-2015, 07:04 AM

thank you for the reply muscmp.....the more I am learning about this setup as an option(adding a sub)...I'm starting to conclude ...I really don't need a high powered sub with a ton of Wattage ...but more of a great sounding sub "with a little umph"...I believe a cab with a 12 inch speaker would do.