The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 04-11-2014, 10:11 AM

Exclamation Recording Setup Suggestions? - Syncing Video with Audio

Hey everyone,

I normally create YouTube videos with just a camera. The sound quality is not great. I want to to upgrade to a condenser microphone to pick up vocals and my Taylor GC8. How should I go about syncing the audio and video?

Current Gear for recording:
Nikon D3200 Camera

Thinking of purchasing:
Blue Bluebird Condenser Microphone
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 Audio Interface

I don't want to lose quality by going directly from a XLR condenser mic to a 3.5mm mic jack on the camera. I do have a Behringer XENYX 802 Mixer if I wanted that.

I'd like both audio and video directly handled by a PC.
I'm not an expert with recording software so I don't know if software like Garage band, Pro tools, Sony Vegas Pro, etc... handle the syncing. Let me know what you think

Thanks,
Josh

https://www.youtube.com/user/JoshwaBurke
Old 04-11-2014, 12:16 PM
Charter Member

The easiest way is just to clap before every take.

If you start rolling on the camera and the audio, then clap so that your hands can be seen by the camera and picked up by the microphone then you can simply line up the instant your hands touch with the audio waveform on the computer. If you get those lines up then everything after should be in sync. You can do that in iMovie.

You just have to remember to clap again after every time you stop and restart the camera.

-Mike
Old 04-11-2014, 12:25 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobilemike View Post
The easiest way is just to clap before every take.