The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 10-07-2016, 01:59 PM

Default Help with flat picking single string accuracy

I've been playing for about 3 years. Started late in life at 55. I am pleased to a degree with my progress after having gone through some of the same struggles other due with needing to build fingertips etc. Also chord change frustration etc etc. I have the basic pretty well down but I'm getting bored with all the songs within my ability. It just seems like the YouTube.com songs are either for a beginner or advanced. The ones that are supposedly intermediate seem to all fall on one side of the fence or another meaning beginner or advanced. I'm sure it's just me being too lazy to take the steps needed to scratch my way out of the beginner skill level..
To stave off some boredom I want to start picking songs with a flat pick. Finger picking makes my *** ache for some reason. I really like the idea of using a flat pick to play individual strings. Mainly because I like the tone of a string that is picked as opposed to played with a finger.
What is the best way to improve my flat picking accuracy? I have real trouble hitting the same individual strings. Seems like the strings move around on the fretboard while I'm trying to play so where I think I hit the A string it is now the E string. The strings are far enough apart that I feel I should be able to get this easily but noooooo. I'm feeling like if I had a song and only had to use the 4,5 strings I'd regularly hit the 1 thru 6???
Thanks

Galaxy S4, Slimkat
If I wasn't married I'd quit fishing
Old 10-07-2016, 02:03 PM

Just relax and keep at it. The difference between "can't"and "can" will be instantaneous. You just have to keep pickin' until it happens.

Sometimes a beer helps...

Theory is the post mortem of Music.
Old 10-07-2016, 02:08 PM

I found this to be helpful. Take a look and see what you think.