The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 12-13-2002, 09:42 AM

Default Quick question for some of you more experianced players

Ive been playing for about 7 years or so. Im not going to lie, Im a huge DMB fan and learned guitar basically by playing everyone of their songs. I love it. The problem is, Im starting to kinda get over dave, and I really havent found that group that motivates me to learn something through-out like I did with DMB.

I try to sit and learn some older stuff like simon & garfunkel, and others( no pun inteded) just to learn songs Ive known forever, but they really dont get my juices going like dave did back then, and I just go back to playing dave. My problem is my repetiore, although its a little scatterd, is mostly made up of DMB. I need more. I like john mayer, dave gray, but thats really all like dave.

So I find that my motivation to learn more has really almost come to a hault. Does this happen after a while? What does this mean?? I really love playing, but always play dave, and its tough to stop when its all I really know well.

Any thoughts at all
Fender Stratocaster 2003
Fender Telecaster 2003
Old 12-13-2002, 09:47 AM

i am at the same exact place you are...when you figure it out, let me know.
Old 12-13-2002, 10:02 AM

Maybe you can try a little Eagles stuff, Its timeless as well as some beatles tunes. Its hard to get tired of really classic tunes and fairly simple to learn. Try some of the classics, they never go out of style. 15 years from now people will still love James Taylor but they will say "Dave Who?" JW
Old 12-13-2002, 10:04 AM

Well, don't STOP playing DMB. I suggest that you need to find a new artist(s) whose guitar work you love, and HAVE to learn. This is what it takes for me to get excited about guitar.
'01 Fender Strat Deluxe
'90 Alvarez 5040
'76 Yamaha FG300
How hard can music be? There's only 12 notes.