The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-11-2009, 01:10 AM

Default Rookie Problem

I'm new at this, and I keep making the same mistake, I keep hitting two strings at once up the neck of the guitar.

I'm self-taught... well, self-teaching, so i don't know if this is just a newbie thing that has to be un-taught or am I actually doing something wrong?

Has anybody here had the same problem?
Old 09-11-2009, 01:37 AM
The Foreigner

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephensmat View Post
I'm new at this, and I keep making the same mistake, I keep hitting two strings at once up the neck of the guitar.
What do you mean by that?

You sure you're not playing a 12-string?
(JK!! )
Transcriptions

(Yes, my PM Inbox is always full. For now, please send me an email at [my agf username]@gmail.com )
Old 09-11-2009, 02:13 AM

I mean, that when holding (For example), the second fret on the D string, I'm usually touching either the A or G string too, accidentally, with the same finger. I don't mean to, and I'm wondering if anybody else has had this problem as I have about ten minutes experience in playing.
Old 09-11-2009, 02:25 AM

Are you using the tip of your finger? Sounds like you may be using the whole pad.
Old 09-11-2009, 02:42 AM
I never finish anythi

I know this isn't much help. But it is just practice!

Slow down whatever your playing until you think you are going too slow - then go a bit slower. It is better to play in relative time, slowly and correctly, than at actual speed out of time and incorrectly.

the precision you need to hit one string at a time will develop with practice.

Martin 000c16GTE
Avalon Gold series S200
Old 09-11-2009, 04:50 AM
The Foreigner

Quote: