The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-21-2017, 07:06 PM

Location: 4 miles from Abbey Road, 5 miles from Page's Gibson(maybe), 120 miles from the Richards's mansion(I think)
Default Best book for learning the guitar?

Hi

I wondered if people had any recommendations for the best book to learn from?.

I have got Guitar for Dummies and I must be a real dummy because I find the style a bit too academic. on the other hand I did not like the Ernie Ball book at all.

I can't read music and all I understand at the moment is what a chord is.

Is there a really good book out there for the absolute beginner that eventually takes you to the next level?
Old 04-21-2017, 07:18 PM

The "Skeptical Guitarist" books by Bruce Emery are excellent...you can order them from his website, or Amazon...

Start with "Guitar From Scratch", and it's sequel, and you'll get a good foundation...he's an excellent teacher with a sense of humor..
Old 04-21-2017, 07:40 PM

Location: 4 miles from Abbey Road, 5 miles from Page's Gibson(maybe), 120 miles from the Richards's mansion(I think)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny B View Post
The "Skeptical Guitarist" books by Bruce Emery are excellent...you can order them from his website, or Amazon...

Start with "Guitar From Scratch", and it's sequel, and you'll get a good foundation...he's an excellent teacher with a sense of humor..
Thank you. These do look good. I've emailed his website to see if I can obtain some of them in the United Kingdom for a realistic price, ie not the £84 per book quoted by Amazon UK.
Old 04-21-2017, 09:34 PM

The Mel Bay and Hal Leonard books are also very good.
Old 04-22-2017, 06:10 AM
Charter Member