The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-06-2017, 06:10 PM

Default Upper and lower bout relative sizes

Hi, this is my first post in the forum. I am a relatively inexperienced builder, but I am interested in trying some ergonomic ideas. The large lower bout and small upper bout design has never quite suited the way I sit with an instrument. Is there any acoustic reason that the lower bout should not be the larger of the two, for example, or that the design could not be altered to accommodate my leg better?

thanks in advance

Ari
Old 04-06-2017, 06:33 PM

Modern guitar design coalesced with Antonio de Torres of Spain near 200 years ago. On the Spanish guitar, the bridge is central in the lower bout, and the lower bout's sound-board is isolated and becomes a vibrating diaphragm, somewhat analogous to the electronic speaker.

If the lower bout was made smaller, then you'd have a small-soundboard instrument with a large resonating chamber. This doesn't make much sense.

The steel string guitar design coalesced with Martin. Isolation of the lower bout does not exist as it does in the Spanish instrument, but the lower bout soundboard diaphragm principle holds true, too. If the upper bout were big, and the lower bout small, you'd be doing the same and making a smaller resonating diaphragm with a large resonance chamber. Doesn't make sense.

Then, ergonomically, I'm not sure the advantage of a larger upper bout than lower...

Ned Milburn
NSDCC Master Artisan
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Old 04-06-2017, 06:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by agabinet View Post
Is there any acoustic reason that the lower bout should not be the larger of the two, for example, or that the design could not be altered to accommodate my leg better? Ari
Did you mean to ask the opposite of what you've asked above? The lower bout IS the larger of the two.
Old 04-06-2017, 07:07 PM