The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Show and Tell

Old 01-25-2009, 12:33 AM

Default Playing And Singing?

I have been playing guitar now for about six years, but I still struggle to sing most songs while I play, and I was wondering if any of you have had the same struggle and if so how you overcame it. I don't have a great voice by any means, but it is more enjoyable for me if I can sing along as I play. Thanks.

Cody
Old 01-25-2009, 01:01 AM

What types of songs? Are they songs with difficult rhythms? As I became a better player and different rhythms came more naturally to me, singing the words got easier. I still can't do it all, but it's much easier. Learning Jack Johnson songs helped a lot because it teaches you to separate the words from the percussive playing.

But it all just comes down to practice.
Old 01-25-2009, 01:48 AM

Practice practice practice...... I still have songs that I struggle with or gave up on because keeping a difficult rhythm and singing is not easy. Sometimes it seems impossible. Here's a good example. Dont try to do this one and chew bubble gum....... Some people might do this one with their eyes closed, but I find it difficult to do once I start singing. Great practice though IMO.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTprkqljVKk

Ryan
Old 01-25-2009, 03:42 AM

u do have to be quite comfortable at doing both I feel.. if you're not very confident a singer/musician, then multitasking can throw you off very easily... so make sure you're confident/consistent at both before tryin to combine it.. that's how i did it and it was much easier...

next up... singing while playing fingerstyle!!
Old 01-25-2009, 07:30 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cody18 View Post