The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-27-2013, 06:52 PM

Default Who here has bought/used the Flatpicking Essentials series?

I have been hearing a lot about this instructional series lately but I was wondering if anyone here used it and how they liked it? I looked at the books and they look like they would be great, but as a broke college kid $25 is a decent cbunk of change so I want to make sure that I would be happy with the investment. Thanks in advance!
early 1930's A-Type mandolin (restored)

Sold:
'07 PRS SE Singlecut
'14 Eastman AC720
Old 02-27-2013, 09:36 PM

Default Fantastic Series

It's a fantastic series! It's worth every penny. I have been using it for a few months. I am done with volume 1 and now working my way through volume 2. I really love this series. I am not a beginner, but the volume 1 showed me how to incorporate bass runs in your rhythm. Also concepts of rest stroke, all the different G runs - it's amazing. Volume 2 teaches carter style. After going halfway through volume 2, I have been able to make carter style arrangements for some of the songs I already know. A small problem I find with volume 2 is this: Dan (the author) asks the readers to listen to the original fiddle tunes before attempting the transcribed versions in the book, but I cannot find the original fiddle tunes for many of the songs. Probably they could have provided those along with the book. Still I suggest, go for it. I don't think you will be disappointed.
Old 02-27-2013, 10:22 PM

prsplayer12,