The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 05-27-2005, 09:12 AM

Question Les Paul Advice

Hello all,

I've been playing acoustic guitar for a couple of years, but I have recently stepped into the realm of electric. I bought a Tradition Les Paul copy used for less than $200. It is a really fine instrument, and everyone I've talked to has said it is better built than a true Gibson Les Paul...

That being said, I know nothing about amplifying this thing. I have been borrowing a friends oversized gorilla of an amp for about a month now, but you can't really do a whole lot with it.

Considering that I will probably never gig out, with the exception of playing at church every now and then, what would be a pretty inexspensive option for me to go with so far as an amp, pedals, and effects? Keep in mind that I will be playing mainly at home, and if I should play at church, we have a great P/A system that I could run everything through.

Any advice? I'm really not looking to spend a lot of money. Hey, I'm on a preacher's salary!!! *HA*

Thanks in advance!!!!

2003 Taylor 314CE-LTD Koa
2004 Tradition S20 (Les Paul Copy)
1999 Yamaha F-310 (my beaten up beater, but it sounds great for a laminate!)
Old 05-27-2005, 09:19 AM

You might want to check out some of the mid priced Crate stuff. They can be had for very small dollars..especially used. They have some nice built in effects and adapt nicely to most aplications and pedals/effects. They are all digital so the sound is not like a big tube amp, but very clean and uncomplicated.
Old 05-27-2005, 09:32 AM

Dthumb... thanks for that advice... although, several people I've talked to have said that I should go with a tube amp and get pedals for my effects. This gives a different perspective... I'm still kinda lost.

Old 05-27-2005, 10:55 AM