The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 01-11-2018, 03:43 PM

Default Revelation

I've been attempting to learn and play guitar for many years. I feel like I never made the kind of progress I had hoped for in terms of musicality. Sure I can remember chords, scales, songs, but I am just painting by numbers and not all that musical when doing so. In the back of my mind, I knew somehow that something was always missing but I could not figure out what my roadblock was.

After so many years, I think I just now have realized my problem. I never learned how to really listen. I mean REALLY listen. Have you ever been there?
Old 01-11-2018, 04:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcgeek View Post
I've been attempting to learn and play guitar for many years. I feel like I never made the kind of progress I had hoped for in terms of musicality. Sure I can remember chords, scales, songs, but I am just painting by numbers and not all that musical when doing so. In the back of my mind, I knew somehow that something was always missing but I could not figure out what my roadblock was.

After so many years, I think I just now have realized my problem. I never learned how to really listen. I mean REALLY listen. Have you ever been there?
What did you say?
2004 Fender Telecaster MIM
2010 Martin DCX1RE
1984 Sigma DM3
Fender Mustang III v2
Old 01-11-2018, 04:16 PM

I'm not very musical, and it takes me a long time to learn anything. I only really started listening closely when it became possible to use a sound editor as an aid, and having Youtube to listen to alternative versions also made a difference. My biggest failing, which came as a genuine revelation just a few months ago, after about 55 years of playing, is that I haven't been paying enough attention to good string damping technique. I was listening to Ry Cooder's original video version of "Get Rhythm" at the time.