The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 07-13-2016, 05:13 AM

Default Carbon fiber as main guitar for fingerstyle

Hi. I am new to this idea of carbon fiber instrument. As I am living in a humid area and tired of worrying about the wood, I would like to replace my taylor gs8 with a cf full size guitar. I mainly play fingerstyle .

Which models would u recommend?

I am eyeing on the KM by McPherson and raisong.

Thanks!
Old 07-13-2016, 05:22 AM

You'll get various views but the reality is you can't go wrong. I have an Emerald X10 and play mainly fingerstyle (poorly, but that's another story) and love it. Have tried Rainsong, Blackbird and CA and all sound very good. I simply prefer the Emerald look and ergonomics.
Old 07-13-2016, 05:24 AM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcppps View Post
Hi. I am new to this idea of carbon fiber instrument. As I am living in a humid area and tired of worrying about the wood, I would like to replace my taylor gs8 with a cf full size guitar. I mainly play fingerstyle .

Thanks!
A RainSong WS1000N2 Classic is a wonderful all-around instrument. The WS1000N2 also comes in other variations: CO-WS1000N2 and BI-WS1000N2. There are also 12-fret variations of this body size.

http://www.rainsong.com/
Ovation Custom Legend LX
Guild F-212XL STD
Huss & Dalton TD-R
Taylor 717e
Taylor 618e
Taylor 614ce
Larrivee D-50M/HiFi
Larrivee D-40R Blue Grass Special/HiFi
Larrivee D-40R Sunburst
Larrivee C-03R TE/Trance M-VT Phantom
RainSong BI-DR1000N2
Emerald X20
Yamaha FGX5
Republic Duolian/Schatten NR-2
Old 07-13-2016, 05:43 AM

The WS-1000 would be fine for your purpose. I play about 75% fingerstyle and just love my WS-1000. It is a bit more comfortable to hold than my koa GS, and feels more like a Taylor GA (I have several of those).