The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-01-2012, 10:12 PM

Default Tascam DP-004 help?

This is my first attempt at recording and I am completely lost with this thing. I picked up one of these units and several months ago I recorded some songs off of an old cassette onto it planning on then exporting those songs to my computer and burning them onto CDs. I also want to record some guitar direct to the device and get that onto my computer as well.

I swear I've read and re-read that manual and I guess I'm just missing what I need the most. I can get the music onto the Tascam no problem. My problem is getting it onto my computer. There were 4 songs on the Tascam. Somehow I was able to export one song onto my computer. I don't know what I did different with it from the other three songs or even if it's something I'm doing now or something I did months ago when I put all four songs on the Tascam.

I'm using (or trying to) Windows Media Player and/or Nero to put the songs on my hard drive and then burn them. I'm able to get that one song to work. Both WMP and Nero see the device when I hook the USB up but they both say that there's nothing on the device.

Cab someone tell me very simply what steps I must take to get the songs from the Tascam to my computer? I'm using a 4GB SD card.
Fender GDP100 Parlor
Fishman Loudbox Mini
Old 05-02-2012, 12:43 AM

This is what I do:

Once I've loaded the relevant song on the DP004 (I'm always in multi-track mode - which you can check by hitting the REC MODE button at the top) I hit the MENU key and turn the main wheel so the menu goes to the WAVE option. Hit the > button on the screen and choose EXPORT TRACK and then highlight all the tracks from this particular song (1, 2, 3, or 4). Each track is individually exported into the part of the DP004's file memory to be accessed by a PC.