The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 10-02-2014, 08:55 PM

Default Action Needs raising?

I just got my first decent guitar, a fender MIM strat and I got it set up by a local guitar tech and as I am sort of a beginner I did not know how I needed the action to be but after playing for a week or so, I find that I experience buzzing all over. My guitar teacher is saying it might need a slight raise in action as being a beginner I am lacking that smoothness of touch in the picking arm. So, should I go for it?
Old 10-02-2014, 09:20 PM

Default Action Needs raising?

It's easy to do on a Strat and very reversible. Go for it. If you're handy, there are a ton of YouTube videos that show how to do this. Honesty, even if you're not handy, you could just adjust the screws a quarter turn, then test if the buzzing stops.
Old 10-02-2014, 09:32 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeguam View Post
It's easy to do on a Strat and very reversible. Go for it. If you're handy, there are a ton of YouTube videos that show how to do this. Honesty, even if you're not handy, you could just adjust the screws a quarter turn, then test if the buzzing stops.
Agreed. This is the easiest adjustment you'll ever do. Go for it.
Old 10-02-2014, 09:44 PM

Another nod to it being an easy adjustment. You will need a very small Allen wrench to fit the saddle adjustment screws. Another way to reduce buzzing is to go one gauge heavier strings, but if you have beginner's fingers I would not go that direction.

Some buzzing may be unavoidable, but you can have quite a bit before the pickups start to amplify it. It's a trade off we make for that easy playability and light feeling under the fingertips.

Acoustics
2013 Guild F30 Standard
2012 Yamaha LL16
2007 Seagull S12
1991 Yairi DY 50

Electrics
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Fender Am. Standard Telecaster
Gibson ES-335
Gibson Firebird