The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-06-2015, 12:17 PM

Default need advice on setup and feedback

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum. I am 56 years old and not at all a techie. I just got back into playing after working my whole life and now I am disabled but can still play. I have a Martin D18 with a Fishman ellipse and a Fishman loudbox artist. I am also using a Tc Helicon play acoustic. I have been plugging the tc helicon into the loudbox. Being that I'm not a techie and getting old I am lost with all the settings and hookup. I am getting feedback without being turned up too loud and it also seems like I am not using my equipment to its potential. The few tc helicon videos on youtube arent very helpful and part of my disability is causing problems with my comprehension. Does anyone know where I can turn to for advice on the equipment I am using? Thank you.
Old 07-06-2015, 12:22 PM

I'd first try taking the "Tc Helicon play acoustic" out of the signal chain. You don't need it.

Welcome to the forum!

EDIT: Are you getting feedback from the vocals or the guitar? There is a gain setting on the side of that vocal pedal. Try turning that down.
Old 07-06-2015, 12:31 PM

From the guitar. I do know about the control knob on the side. So you mean plug the guitar in to the amp and not through the tc helicon? Just use the tc helicon for harmonies and not the guitar effects it has to offer? Thank you!

Last edited by Tim1958; 07-06-2015 at 12:32 PM. Reason: say thanks
Old 07-06-2015, 12:35 PM

Well I think you need to have the guitar plugged into it for the harmonies to work. Thats the reason I quit using those pedals.

Try turning the gain down on the guitar channel and/or re-position the amp away from you.
also try the phase button on the Fishman ellipse.