The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-21-2017, 10:02 AM

Default I think it's time for another J-45 thread!

Greetings fellow AGF'ers. I'm in the market for a slope shoulder dread. My number one guitar for many years was a 1938 L-OO and before that an early sixties LG-1. Since then I've owned a couple of Taylors, an 814 that I sold and a 514 FLTD that 's for sale locally. I also bought and sold a Larrivee OM and an Alvarez.

I'm a sideman by trade and play with a wide dynamic range, sometimes using a fairly heavy right hand. At home I mostly play finger style but at gigs I play a lot of lead with a fair amount of bending and vibrato. The L-OO is great at at both of those but when I double up on rhythm parts it doesn't always blend well. So I'm basically looking for something that does it all.

So I played a couple of J-45's and felt like I was on the right track. I can dig in with my right hand without it fretting out and can do smooth lead bends. The strumming sound was very nice as well. Now I'm at the point where I'm trying to wade through all the various models and specs before I start to seriously shop.

I'm interested in peoples thoughts and experiences with Vintage, TV, Standards and different wood choices on the more recent Gibsons. I prefer to avoid vintage guitars at this point unless I stumble across one that speaks to me. I'm also considering some non Gibson variants such as the Bourgeois Slope D.

Disclaimer: I realize there is a lot of variation within a particular model and one standard can be very different from another. I plan to get my hands on as many as is practical. Taste is subjective, blah, blah I think some anecdotal discussion can still be helpful. Thanks!
National Polychrome Tricone
National Model D Squareneck
Weber Gallatin A Mandolin

http://www.bandmix.com/jon-nilsen/
https://www.bandmix.com/limberlost/