The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 06-21-2017, 09:00 AM

Default NEW BUILD: ENGLEMANN/ ZIRICOTE OM CUTAWAY ##FINISHED!!!

Well, as some of you know I have "hung out" here on the forum for quite some time. I am a business owner and in my spare time I love building guitars. Many of the guitars I've built were for friends and family and of course, a few I've kept. All total, I've built a total of 24 guitars. I have posted a few pictures over the past year or two of a couple of my builds, but really was just in the learning mode at the time. Pretty much everything I've learned has been a product of reading and studying a lot, but mostly it is the school of experience. I know it would be safe to say that i am still learning a lot as I study builds here on AGF and talk with a few builders along the way. All told, I gotta say that I'm pretty proud of the results I've been getting overall, and tonally I think my guitars are sounding reasonably good. Some people have told me that they sound amazing, but I'll stick with "pretty good" for now.

I'm very happy in the business I've been a part of for 30 years and owned now for the last 8 years. As such, I really don't see myself as a "builder" per se, except on a few distinct occasions when people have asked me to build them a special guitar. So, since this actually is one of those builds, I thought I'd share it with all of you. So yes, this is one I'm building for a friend who has been a big help to me in lots of ways. He doesn't know that he's getting this one so help me keep it a secret . Also I would welcome any input from anyone including any of you "professional builders" out there who want to lend a hand to a rookie like me . I'm all ears for ideas and constructive critique.