The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 05-22-2016, 12:23 PM

Default Nylon string wear question

Hi everybody! I'm new to classical/nylon string guitars and I've got a question concerning string wear. Especially over the frets, where strings make contact with them when pressed down.

I've already searched around the net and much has been said about how hard the strings are pressed and how long they're kept and played on the guitar and etc.

But my issue is: I've just them on my nylon guitar and I could notice some small dark spots on the strings, right above the frets. That'd been like half an hour playing, they haven't even held their tuning yet!

It's not deep fret wear, just these dark spots I mentioned. I'm guessing nylon strings come with some sort of "coating" to make them shine and bright when first putting them on the guitar, but I could be wrong. Never happened on my steel guitar.

Any thoughts? Btw, I'm using Daddario's nylon, medium, EJ27 red package.

Thanks a lot for any kind of "light" on the matter.
Old 05-22-2016, 01:47 PM

Hello, I don't think you need to worry about string wear after just half an hour's play unless you have a bad set, which is unlikely. It is, however, quite common for the wound strings to wear out before the plain ones and there has been at least one thread recently on that very subject; it is not unheard of to change just the wound strings and keep the plain, or trebles, on for longer, perhaps at a ratio of 2:1.
So don't panic! Hope that helps.
Old 05-22-2016, 01:53 PM

Thanks. I guess it's right to think those dark spots are more of a "coating wear" than actually damage to the windings. Am I mistaken?
Old 05-22-2016, 03:18 PM

Are you sure it is discoloration? Or is it just a reflection of the fretwire on the shiny surface of the string?
Old 05-22-2016, 06:43 PM