The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 06-17-2015, 10:47 PM

Default Leo Kottke's Stealing difficulty level?

Hi all, I've been tempted to attempt one of Kottke's piece, Stealing.
When I was uninitiated in fingerpicking, this type of songs seems pretty simple( "just chords and fingerstyle").. but now that I've been playing some delta blues and John Fahey stuff for about 4 years, this seems like a really intimidating piece to learn..
Could you people be kind enough to prepare me mentally or warn me for the difficulty ahead?
On the scale of 0-10 and from beginner to insane/professional, how would you rate it's difficulty level?

Many thanks in advance!
Bb L13 - sold
Yamaha FG700S (broken, not forgotten)
Fernandes Strat
Old 06-18-2015, 12:14 AM
Charter Member

Can't rate how hard a piece is going to be for someone else to play, however the mere fact that you are asking the question makes me think you are going to have to work on it a while before it clicks.
If you are having trouble, realize that the tune mostly has a repetitive picking pattern throughout. Practice picking the pattern until you are reliable up to a third or half speed. Go from there.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 06-18-2015, 03:40 AM
Charter Member

Why not just make your own version rather than trying to copy Leo?
Old 06-18-2015, 05:24 AM

I'd say the main challenge is the tempo. The RH patterns are stock ones, and the chord sequence is also fairly standard.
Would take a while to get it up to speed. And IMO, it would be easy enough to invent something of your own in the same style, throwing a few chords together with occasional spare finger embellishments.