The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 08-21-2017, 01:25 PM

Default Newb celebrating NGD :D Larrivee LV-05

I've been playing off and on but mostly off for the last 15+ years - college was busy as I worked a couple extra jobs while I took classes full-time, grad school was even busier since I got married and had a daughter right at the beginning. All the hard work is finally paying off and things are slowing down a bit this summer, though, so I finally got back into playing again recently. Spent an hour or two a day, sometimes more, with my dad's Martin D-16 cutaway.

A few weeks ago, I got the itch to start looking for a second guitar to complement my J-45. Not seriously, probably not for another year, but on my very first visit to the acoustic room at Guitar Center just to scope out some of my options I stumbled across this used LV-05, and even with my very mediocre beginner skills, it spoke to me above all the others I tried that day. I was really looking for more of a beater/travel guitar, so I tried some mid-range Breedloves, Seagulls, etc, and then some of the Taylors/Martins/Gibsons in the 1000-1500 range.

I had to have it. I knew nothing at all about Larrivee prior to this, but I did some research after falling in love and determined that it was an OK deal on an instrument that's not super common around here. I went back 2 days later to put it on hold and told my husband after the fact.

Fast forward a couple weeks, and I've cleared clutter out of the basement, Craigslisted and Ebayed a bunch of stuff, and raised enough funds to bring it home! Everything I could have wanted, the playability right now is great for me so I won't bother to take it to be set up by a pro just yet. I head back to school (teacher) next week, but I will enjoy plenty of hours of practice in the coming days before reality hits again!