The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 08-21-2017, 12:19 PM

Default Beatbuddy Users?

How many of you are using one for live use, either the mini version or its big brother? I've got an older drum machine and it just isn't user friendly for its foot switch capability and ability to do fills easily.
Pros / cons?
Old 08-21-2017, 12:48 PM
Charter Member

Just got the regular one. It's cool, especially if you install extra kits from the forums/store. As a solo guitarist I'd rather just have a floor kick pedal though but I would use the BB for a duo act!
Old 08-21-2017, 01:48 PM

I play a solo acoustic show, and I just got a Beatbuddy added to my pedal board. I am dialing in some different drumbeats that I will use during my show. Pretty fun, but make sure you rehearse the functionality while performing. Can get tricky if you multitask like I do while playing lol.
Old 08-23-2017, 08:12 AM

Got the main pedal last year. Due to life it sat around not being used, but found out the drummer at my church is going to be out due to surgery so I pulled it back out. Been working through the desktop software, pulling in new beats and getting beats/sounds matching up to specific songs. I will probably down the road start reprogramming beats to sound more like I would want them too, but for the short term I can mix and match beats/sounds/tempos. I also use ambient pads behind my guitar and the beatbuddy to fill out the sound. For my needs I'm finding the "Brush" sound set works the best, so I just take the beat patterns and assign the Brush kit to the patterns, adjust the tempo, make a note of it and then prepare to build the individual set in the desktop software.